Fresh Bite



The journey begins…

I’ve long been an advocate of local produce, shopping at the Farmer’s Market and cooking delicious meals at home.  However, in many ways I’ve been a bit of a hypocrite.  I make sure my kids have some sort of fruit and/or vegetables each day.  I also make most of our meals from scratch, and that does not mean a jar of pasta sauce over some spaghetti noodles.  But, it’s not uncommon for me to have a lunch comprised of the crumbs at the bottom of a potato chip bag, followed by a mini candy bar stolen from my daughter’s still uneaten Halloween stash.  And yet on the days when I make myself a beautiful salad with homemade vinaigrette (can’t remember the last time I bought salad dressing in a bottle), I am surprised by how easy and tasty it is.

I know there are thousands of food blogs out there, and on this day, January 28, 2010, I officially throw my hat into the ring of would-be chef/journalists.  I hope you’ll enjoy reading about my successes and failures in the kitchen, at the market, and in life.

Leave a Reply

